Chennai Super Kings IPL 2015 Squad Delhi Daredevils IPL 2015 Squad Kings XI Punjab IPL 2015 Squad Kolkata Knight Riders IPL 2015 SquadMumbai Indians IPL 2015 Squad Rajasthan Royals IPL 2015 Squad Royal Challengers Bangalore IPL 2015 Squad Sunrisers Hyderabad IPL 2015 Squad


Wednesday, 19 November 2014

Test – Day 3: India Women v South Africa Women, Mysore | South Africa Women tour of India

File Photo
In reply to India’s 400/6 declared, South Africa were reeling on 83/6 after being asked to follow-on on the third day in Mysore. Running through the visitors’ line-up on the third day, the bowlers have brought the hosts within reach of a spectacular win. They bowled SA out for 233 and enforced the follow-on earlier in the day. While Rajeshwari Gayakwad accounted for the top-order (four wickets), Harmanpreet Kaur skittled the middle and lower-order to finish with a five-wicket haul in the innings. Jhulan Goswami and Poonam Yadav then picked two wickets each and along with the chief wreckers of the first innings pushed the visitors into a corner to keep India in the driver’s seat. (Also Read: Report: Ind vs SA (Women), Test–Day 2)

Earlier, after resuming on 85/3, Marcia Letsoalo was the first to be sent back after contributing six to the total by Harmanpreet Kaur. At 107/4 Trisha Shetty joined Mignon Du Preez in the middle and the pair revived the innings with a 101-run stand. However, the pair’s partnership that had stabilised the visitors’ innings was ended by Rajeshwari Gayakwad. The spinner trapped the SA captain lbw for 102 and triggered a collapse. The rest of the line-up then caved in to Kaur’s bowling. The pacer finished with a fifer to wrap-up SA’s first innings while Gayakwad claimed Nonkululeko Thabethe to finish with four wickets in the innings. (Also Read: Report: Ind vs SA (Women), Test–Day 1)

Bowled out in 110 overs in the first innings, SA were asked to follow-on by Mithali Raj. Experienced pacer, Jhulan Goswami then removed both SA openers to leave the opposition on 26/2. And 33 runs later, Poonam Yadav claimed the SA skipper who had anchored the first innings with a century for a mere 19. In the next over, Gayakwad claimed Marizanne Kapp without a run added to the total while Yadav dealt a further blow by dismissing Lizelle Lee in the following over. With half the side back in the pavilion for 62, India were pushing for victory in the four-day Test. 

Kaur accounted for Thabethe to bring India within four wickets of a win as the South Africans struggled to stay afloat. Shetty was batting on six with Chloe Tyron 15 when play ended on Tuesday evening.

Day 1: India 1st inn 211/1 in 102 overs (M D Thirushkamini 100*, Poonam Raut 100*)

Day 2:
 India 1st inn 400/6 decl in 148.4 overs (M D Thirushkamini 192, Poonam Raut 130, Sunette Loubser 3/90); South Africa 1st inn 85/3 in 51 overs (Nadine Moodley 40, Mignon Du Preez 28*, R Gayakwad 2/20)

Day 3: South Africa 1st inn 233 all out in 110 overs (Mignon Du Preez 102, Trisha Shetty 55, Harmanpreet Kaur 5/44, R Gayakwad 4/53); South Africa 2nd inn 83/6 in 41 overs (M Kapp 19*, P Yadav 2/15, J Goswami 2/18)

source: bcci.tv


Post a Comment