Chennai Super Kings IPL 2015 Squad Delhi Daredevils IPL 2015 Squad Kings XI Punjab IPL 2015 Squad Kolkata Knight Riders IPL 2015 SquadMumbai Indians IPL 2015 Squad Rajasthan Royals IPL 2015 Squad Royal Challengers Bangalore IPL 2015 Squad Sunrisers Hyderabad IPL 2015 Squad


Tuesday, 18 November 2014

Test – Day 2: India Women v South Africa Women, Mysore | South Africa Women tour of India


South Africa were trailing by 315 runs with seven wickets in hand in the first innings at stumps on Day 2 after India declared their innings on 400/6. Carrying forward her innings, M D Thirushkamini, who was unbeaten on 100 on Day 1 went on to make 192 before returning to the pavilion. Although the India opener missed out on a well deserved double-century she had already lifted India to a mammoth total. Rajeshwari Gayakwad then claimed two early wickets while Poonam Yadav claimed one. (Also Read: Report: Ind vs SA (Women), Test–Day 1)

Resuming on the overnight score of 211/1, Thirushkamini and Poonam Raut added 72 to the total before the latter was sent back by Dane Van Niekerk. Raut who had made her century towards the end of Day 1 departed for 130 making way for the India captain, Mithali Raj. The veteran batsman contributed 37 before being castled by Sunette Loubser. A while later the bowler followed up with the wicket of Harmanpreet Kaur while Yolani Fourie claimed the India opener in the next over. Although denied a double-ton, Thirushkamini's effort along with Raut’s, had put India in a commanding position in the match. 

Six runs later with the team on 400, Loubser also accounted for Jhulan Goswami. With the fall of the sixth wicket on the second day, India declared their first innings.

The Indian bowlers further strengthened the hosts’ grip on the match by dealing early blows. Gayakwad claimed Dane Van Niekerk and Marizanne Kapp off successive overs to leave the visitors on 37/2. 46 runs later, Yadav accounted for SA opener Nadine Moodley to push the opposition further on the backfoot in face of a mountainous ask. When play ended on the second day SA were 85/3 with captain Mignon Du Preez batting on 28 and Marcia Letsoalo yet to get off the mark. 

The scores: India — 1st innings: M.D. Thirushkamini c Trisha Chetty b Yolani Fourie 192, Smriti Mandhana c Sunette Loubser b Chloe Tryon 8, Punam Raut st Trisha Chetty b Dane van Niekerk 130, Mithali Raj b Sunette Loubser 37, Harmanpreet Kaur c Marizanne Kapp b Sunette Loubser 17, Jhulan Goswami st Trisha Chetty b Sunette Loubser 3, Shika Pandey (not out) 6; Extras (b-2, lb-4, nb-1): 7; Total (for six wickets in 148.4 overs decl.): 400.
Fall of wickets: 1-8, 2-283, 3-344, 4-384, 5-394, 6-400.
South Africa bowling: Marizanne Kapp 16-8-27-0, Chloe Tryon 19-4-55-1, Marcia Letsoalo 25-11-48-0, Sunette Loubser 32.4-5-90-3, Dane van Niekerk 37-8-90-1, Yolani Fourie 18-0-79-1, Migon du Preez 1-0-5-0.
South Africa — 1st innings: Nadine Moodley c Mithali Raj b Punam Yadav 40, Dane van Niekerk c N. Niranjana b Rajeshwari Gayakwad 15, Marizanne Kapp lbw b Rajeshwari Gayakwad 0, Migon du Preez (batting) 28, Marcia Letsoalo (batting) 0; Extras (b-1, lb-1): 2; Total (for three wickets in 51 overs): 85.
Fall of wickets: 1-37, 2-37, 3-83.
India bowling: Jhulan Goswami 7-0-19-0, N. Niranjana 4-2-5-0, Harmanpreet Kaur 6-1-16-0, Rajeshwari Gayakwad 17-10-20-2, Shika Pandey 4-2-10-0, Punam Yadav 13-7-13-1.

source: bcci.tv


Post a Comment