Chennai Super Kings IPL 2015 Squad Delhi Daredevils IPL 2015 Squad Kings XI Punjab IPL 2015 Squad Kolkata Knight Riders IPL 2015 SquadMumbai Indians IPL 2015 Squad Rajasthan Royals IPL 2015 Squad Royal Challengers Bangalore IPL 2015 Squad Sunrisers Hyderabad IPL 2015 Squad


Monday, 8 September 2014

Stats Highlights: England v India, Birmingham | NatWest International T20


This was the eighth Twenty20 International between these two sides. (Also Read: Only T20I: England v India, Birmingham)

Jason Roy, Ambati Rayudu and Karn Sharma were making their T20I debut. A total of 70 and 49 players have now represented England and India in T20Is respectively.

MS Dhoni was playing his 50th Twenty20 International match. He became first Indian to do so. By an odd coincidence his counterpart Eoin Morgan was also playing his 50th match.

R Ashwin conceded 17 runs in first over of England innings – most expensive opening over of the match by an Indian bowler. The previous record was of 13 runs.

Eoin Morgan (71) became first England captain to score a fifty in T20 Internationals since November 2009 when Paul Collingwood made 57 against South Africa at Johannesburg.

Morgan scored 15 runs off his first 15 balls (Strike-rate 100.00). Of his next 16 balls he scored 56 (strike-rate 350.00).

Ajinkya Rahane became first Indian and only the fifth player to take four catches in the field in a T20I match. Others to perform this feat are Darren Sammy (West Indies v Ireland, Providence, 2010), Peter Borren (Netherlands vs Bangladesh, Voorburg, 2012), Corey Anderson (New Zealand v South Africa, Port Elizabeth, 2012) and Dinesh Chandimal (Sri Lanka v Bangladesh, Chittagong, 2014).

Virat Kohli (66) scored his ninth fifty in Twenty20 Internationals – most by an Indian. He went past Yuvraj Singh’s record of 8 fifties.

Kohli also became India’s leading run-scorer in Twenty20 International. He went ahead of Yuvraj Singh’s tally of 968 runs. Interestingly it took Kohli 11 innings fewer than Yuvraj to beat his record.

It was the fourth time MS Dhoni remained unbeaten in a failed run-chase by India. The list:

30* v England, Lord’s, 2009 (India lost by 3 runs)

48* v Australia, Sydney, 2012 (India lost by 31 runs)

22* v New Zealand, Chennai, 2012 (India lost by 1 run)

27* v England, Birmingham, 2014 (India lost by 3 runs) 

India have now lost all three Twenty20 Internationals against England in England.

source: bcci.tv


Post a Comment