Chennai Super Kings IPL 2015 Squad Delhi Daredevils IPL 2015 Squad Kings XI Punjab IPL 2015 Squad Kolkata Knight Riders IPL 2015 SquadMumbai Indians IPL 2015 Squad Rajasthan Royals IPL 2015 Squad Royal Challengers Bangalore IPL 2015 Squad Sunrisers Hyderabad IPL 2015 Squad


Friday, 24 January 2014

Report: India vs Sri Lanka (Women) – 3rd ODI, Visakhapatnam

Mithali-Raj-India-vs-Sri Lanka-3rd-ODI-2014

With a 95-run win at the Dr. Y.S. Rajasekhara Reddy ACA-VDCA Cricket Stadium, India won the three-match ODI series 3-0. The Poonam Yadav-led attack bowled Sri Lanka out for 134, after Mithali Raj set up the match in the hosts’ favour with an unbeaten 104-run knock. (Also Read: Report: India vs Sri Lanka (Women) – 1st ODI, Visakhapatnam)

Raj put India Women in a commanding position in the last ODI against Sri Lanka, after the hosts were asked to take first strike. The India captain, who came to the crease at the fall of opener Smriti Mandhana's wicket, anchored the innings with a 109-ball knock to help set a formidable target for the visitors. Opener Anagha Deshpande and Harmanpreet Kaur contributed 24 runs each and Amita Sharma chipped in with 16 runs. Pacer and lower-order bat, Jhulan Goswami, added 26 and was unbeaten in the company of her captain when India completed their quota of overs with 229 on the board. (Also Read: Report: India vs Sri Lanka (Women) – 2nd ODI, Visakhapatnam)

Chamari Polgampala and Oshadi Ranasinghe claimed two wickets each, while Chandima Gunarathne picked one.
Rajeshwari Gayakwad then gave India their first breakthrough with the key wicket of Yasoda Mendis. 36 runs later, Poonam Yadav caught Lasanthi Madushani off her own bowling. And a bit later, she had Shashikala Siriwarde caught behind by Deshpande.

The middle succumbed without offering much resistance to the Indian attack. Sneh Rana claimed Deepika Rasangika and followed up with the wicket of Chamari Athapaththu to leave the visitors on 69 for the loss of five wickets.

With SL on 88, Gayakwad removed Eshani Lokusooriya, while Anushka Sanjeewani was run out for one. Four overs later, Jhulan Goswami removed Chamari Polgampala to take India within sniffing distance of a convincing win. Yadav then claimed the last two wickets of Udeshika Prabodini and Chandima Gunarathne to ring in the victory and finish with a four-wicket haul.

Oshadi Ranasinghe, who had put up a late resistance, was left stranded on 29 as SL were bowled out in 44 overs.

For the latest Cricket news, like us on Facebook or follow us on Twitter


Post a Comment