Chennai Super Kings IPL 2015 Squad Delhi Daredevils IPL 2015 Squad Kings XI Punjab IPL 2015 Squad Kolkata Knight Riders IPL 2015 SquadMumbai Indians IPL 2015 Squad Rajasthan Royals IPL 2015 Squad Royal Challengers Bangalore IPL 2015 Squad Sunrisers Hyderabad IPL 2015 Squad


Wednesday, 22 January 2014

Report: India vs Sri Lanka (Women) – 2nd ODI, Visakhapatnam

Smriti-Mandhana-India-vs-Sri Lanka-2nd-ODI-2014

With a comprehensive seven-wicket win, India Women took an unassailable 2-0 lead against Sri Lanka Women in the ongoing three-match ODI series. Aided by Amita Sharma and the rest of the bowling attack, Gouher Sultana set up the game in the hosts’ favour. The Mithali Raj-led team then chased down the 141-run target comfortably at the Dr. Y.S. Rajasekhara Reddy ACA-VDCA Cricket Stadium in Visakhapatnam. (Also Read: Report: India vs Sri Lanka (Women) – 1st ODI, Visakhapatnam)

Earlier, after opting to bowl first, India wrapped up the Sri Lankan innings for 140. Gouher Sultana, who had returned with a four-wicket haul in the first match, did so once again to put India in a commanding position after Amita Sharma provided the initial breakthroughs. Sharma broke the opening stand for 61 by claiming Chamari Atapattu. She then dismissed Yasoda Mendis (56) in same over to leave SL on 65 for two. From there on, it was downhill for the visitors as Sultana wrecked the rest of the line-up. She was complemented by the rest of the attack as the Sri Lankan women got out in 47.1 overs. Rajeshwari Gayakwad and Sneh Rana also chipped in with a wicket each.

Chasing the modest target, Poonam Raut was run out for 38. With the home team on 74, Harmanpreet Kaur joined Smriti Mandhana (51) in the middle, but she was sent back for one by Shashikala Siriwardene. 21 runs later, Mandhana was dismissed by Chandima Gunaratne. Remaining unbeaten, Mithali Raj (31*) and Karu Jain (19*) then took the team across the line in 39.3 overs.

For the latest Cricket news, like us on Facebook or follow us on Twitter 


Post a Comment