Chennai Super Kings IPL 2015 Squad Delhi Daredevils IPL 2015 Squad Kings XI Punjab IPL 2015 Squad Kolkata Knight Riders IPL 2015 SquadMumbai Indians IPL 2015 Squad Rajasthan Royals IPL 2015 Squad Royal Challengers Bangalore IPL 2015 Squad Sunrisers Hyderabad IPL 2015 Squad


Saturday, 29 November 2014

Report: India Women v South Africa Women - 3rd ODI, Bangalore

South Africa pulled off a four-wicket win against India to claim the three-match ODI series 2-1 at the M Chinnaswamy Stadium in Bangalore. The visitors were set on course for the 181-run target by Nadine Moodley and Mignon du Preez’s 108-run stand after losing the openers with just 13 runs on the board. After the double strike by Deepti Sharma in the 29th over to end the century stand, the Indian bowlers then dried up the flow of runs. However, Dane van Niekerk and Sunette Loubser then scraped to the target with 12 balls to spare in the ICC World Championship. (Also Read: Report: Ind vs SA (Women), 2nd ODI)

Earlier, South Africa wrapped up the Indian innings for 180 in 47.3 overs after electing to field first. After Marizanne Kapp removed Smriti Mandhana with just eight runs on the board, Deepti was run out six overs later with the addition of just one run to the hosts’ total. A few overs later with India having increased the scoring rate, Poonam Raut was sent back by van Niekerk leaving India on 40/3. (Also Read: Report: Ind vs SA (Women), 1st ODI)

Mithali Raj then joined Shikha Pandey in the middle and the pair had taken the team past the 100-run mark when the captain was removed by Yolani Fourie. Two runs later, Pandey was sent back for 59 by Sunette Loubser. 

Harmanpreet Kaur and VR Vanitha then added 42 runs for the sixth wicket until the latter was caught by the wicketkeeper off Marcia Letsoalo. 

With Sunette Loubser, Letsoalo ran through the lower half of the India lineup to skittle out the home team and finish with three wickets each. 

Kaur was sent back by Loubser who also later accounted for Sushma Verma while Letsoalo claimed Jhulan Goswami and S Sharma to restrict India. 

Goswami then struck early to remove the SA openers Lizelle Lee and Trisha Chetty to leave the hosts on 13/2. However, Moodley and du Preez stabilized the innings with a crucial stand for the third wicket. While Moodley was caught by Deepti off her own bowling for 54, the SA captain was castled by the bowler a ball later in the same over. 

With the visitors on 122/4 in the 29th over, van Niekerk joined Kapp in the middle to help recover from the double blow and carry the chase forward. 24 runs later Kapp was run out for 14 and was replaced by Nonkululeko Thabethe who was bowled by Ekta Bisht for zero in the next over. 

van Niekerk (20* off 52) and Loubser (23* off 44) then stayed their ground and painstakingly gathered runs to attain the target. In an unbroken 36-run partnership spanning 11.2 overs they took the team across the line.  

South Africa Women 184 for 6 (Moodley 54, du Preez 46, Goswami 2-27) beat India Women 180 (Pandey 59, Kaur 42, Loubser 3-28, Letsoalo 3-46) by four wickets

source: bcci.tv


Post a Comment