Chennai Super Kings IPL 2015 Squad Delhi Daredevils IPL 2015 Squad Kings XI Punjab IPL 2015 Squad Kolkata Knight Riders IPL 2015 SquadMumbai Indians IPL 2015 Squad Rajasthan Royals IPL 2015 Squad Royal Challengers Bangalore IPL 2015 Squad Sunrisers Hyderabad IPL 2015 Squad


Saturday, 23 August 2014

2nd ODI - England Women v India Women, Scarborough | ICC Women's Championship

ICC Women's Championship, 2nd ODI: England Women v India Women at Scarborough, Aug 23, 2014

England women pulled off a 13-run win against India women at the North Marine Road Ground in Scarborough. After England captain Charlotte Edwards set-up the victory for the hosts with an unbeaten 108, Jenny Gunn and company ensured that the hosts sealed a 2-0 lead in the three-match series. While Gunn claimed a four-for, the rest of the attack contributed to bowl the team to victory with eight balls to spare in the bilateral series of the ICC Women's Championship. (Also Read:1st ODI - England Women v India Women, Scarborough)

Earlier after opting to field, India claimed wickets at regular intervals. However, England skipper Charlotte Edwards’ resistance ensured the hosts reached a competitive total in their 50 overs. Opening the batting with Heather Knight, Edwards lost her partner to a run out with 26 runs on the board. 

50 runs later, Rajeshwari Gayakwad sent back Sarah Taylor to end the blossoming 2nd wicket partnership. With a little over ten overs later, Gayakwad accounted for Lauren Winfield with England tottering at 112/3. Jhulan Goswami then removed Lydia Greenway and Tammy Beaumont of consecutive deliveries to give India an upper hand.

 Natalie Sciver then joined her captain to add 44 for the sixth wicket until she was sent back by Gayakwad for 17. Edwards meanwhile held up one end and kept the scoreboard ticking. Gunn was the next to be sent back by Goswami while Shikha Pandey accounted for Danielle Hazell a while later and Gayakwad followed up with the wicket of Anya Shrubsole. Kate Cross then helped Edwards collect runs at the other end to help England reach 214 in 50 overs.

Cross who had given good support with the bat then returned to send the first tremors to the India batting line-up. She took the wicket of Poonam Raut ending India’s opening stand for 39. Gunn then claimed Karu Jain and Smriti Mandhana to leave India on 64/3 in the seventeenth over. Mithali Raj and Harmanpreet Kaur then stitched a 33-run partnership until Mithali Raj was trapped lbw for 30 by Knight. Kaur however, held the innings together. She then put up yet another partnership, this time with Vellaswamy Vanita until Anya Shrubsole struck to end a 41-run stand. Jhulan Goswami then joined Kaur to add 33 runs for the sixth wicket before being caught by Gunn off her own bowling. 
Shikha Pandey who then came to the crease was sent back for naught by Knight leaving India struggling at 172/7. Kaur who had kept India in the fight was the next to return to the pavilion after scoring a fighting 43, this time Shrubsole being the wicket-taker. Eight wickets down and their only glimmer of hope returning to the pavilion, the end for India was near. 

With 43 runs more required off 47 balls, Ekta Bisht joined N Niranjana in an effort to take their team closer to the target. Jenny Gunn however had other plans as she castled Niranjana to take England within a wicket of victory. 

With Gayakwad at the other end Bisht put up a fight to keep India in the game. However, after she took the visitors past 200, Danielle Hazell claimed Gayakwad to seal a victory for the home team. Bisht was left unbeaten on 14.

Brief scores:

England 214/9 in 50 overs (C Edwards 108*, R Gayakwad 4/42, J Goswami 3/30) beat India 201 all out in 48.4 overs (H Kaur 43, J Gunn 4/23, H Knight 2/29) by 13 runs

source: bcci.tv & ecb.co.uk


Post a Comment