Chennai Super Kings IPL 2015 Squad Delhi Daredevils IPL 2015 Squad Kings XI Punjab IPL 2015 Squad Kolkata Knight Riders IPL 2015 SquadMumbai Indians IPL 2015 Squad Rajasthan Royals IPL 2015 Squad Royal Challengers Bangalore IPL 2015 Squad Sunrisers Hyderabad IPL 2015 Squad


Friday, 18 July 2014

Stats Highlights: England vs India, 2nd Investec Test - Day 1


After winning toss in six consecutive Tests, MS Dhoni’s luck finally ran out with flip of the coin. His streak of six toss-wins still equals the Indian record though. The details:

Most consecutive toss wins by Indian captains
Nariman Contractor
Dec 1961- Mar 1962
Mohammad Azharuddin
Oct 1995- Mar 1998
MS Dhoni
Nov 2013-Jul 2014
Alastair Cook is playing his 104th consecutive Test. He has not missed a single Test for England since May 2006. Only three players have had a longer streak of consecutive Tests than Cook- Allan Border (153), Mark Waugh (107) and Sunil Gavaskar (106). (Also Read: Report: England vs India, 2nd Investec Test - Day 1)
James Anderson’s wicket of Shikhar Dhawan made him the leading wicket-taker in all Tests in England, moving ahead of Fred Trueman’s tally of 229 wickets.

Anderson- with the wicket of Virat Kohli- became England's leading Test wicket-taker against India, surpassing Derek Underwood and Bob Willis, who had taken 62 wickets apiece against India.

Kohli’s wicket also made Anderson the highest wicket-taker in Tests at Lord’s. This was his 70th wicket at Lord’s, one more than Ian Botham.

Stuart Broad completed his 250 wickets in Test cricket when he had MS Dhoni caught by Matt Prior. He became eighth England bowler and 38th overall to accomplish this feat.

Broad also completed the allround double of 2000 runs and 250 wickets, becoming the second England player after Ian Botham and 13th overall to do so.

At 28 years 23 days Broad is the third youngest player to complete the allround double of 2000 runs and 250 wickets after Kapil Dev and Ian Botham.

Bhvneshwar Kumar (36) missed the opportunity of becoming the first number 9 batsman to score three consecutive fifties. He had made 58 and 63* at Trent Bridge.

Ajinkya Rahane (103) became only the second Indian batsman to score a hundred in his first innings at Lord’s. Sourav Ganguly (131 in 1996) is the only other to do so (Dilip Vengsarkar and Ajit Agarkar scored hundreds in second innings of their first Tests at Lord’s).

Rahane’s 103 are now the most scored by an Indian batsman on the opening day of a Lord’s Test. Nariman Contractor had made 81 in 1959.

The 90 run-partnership between Ajinkya Rahane and Bhuvneshwar Kumar is India’s best for eighth wicket at Lord’s. The pair obliterated the previous record stand of 74 runs between Lall Singh and Amar Singh way back in 1932.

India ended the day one at 290 for nine. It is for the first time in a Lord’s Test that India managed to survive on the opening day. In all previous six instances India were bowled out.

source: bcci.tv


Post a Comment