Chennai Super Kings IPL 2015 Squad Delhi Daredevils IPL 2015 Squad Kings XI Punjab IPL 2015 Squad Kolkata Knight Riders IPL 2015 SquadMumbai Indians IPL 2015 Squad Rajasthan Royals IPL 2015 Squad Royal Challengers Bangalore IPL 2015 Squad Sunrisers Hyderabad IPL 2015 Squad


Thursday, 25 August 2011

Revised Limited-Overs Squad Against England Tour

Indian Cricket Team Opening batsman Sehwag and seamer Ishant Sharma will come back home after the Test series ends later on Monday, BCCI said in a statement.

Sehwag had shoulder surgery in May, which forced him to miss the tour of the West Indies and the first two Tests against England. But BCCI secretary N. Srinivasan said that it was an ear infection, rather than the shoulder injury, that’s why Sehwag out of the England tour.

"Sehwag suffered from labyrinthithis of the left ear," Srinivasan said in the statement. "Although his condition has improved, he continues to experience headaches. And also Sehwag's right shoulder had healed, but that he would maintain "therapy to build up his throwing and bowling fitness".
"An ENT (ear, nose and throat) specialist, who was consulted on the same, has said that he will take two more weeks to get well completely."

The lanky Sharma sustained a ligament injury in his left ankle for the period of the third Test in Birmingham, Srinivasan said.

Sehwag and Sharma will be replaced by two rookies, batsman Ajinkya Rahane and fast bowler Varun Aaron, in the on tour squad, Srinivasan said.

Rahane, 23, has been a creative scorer for Mumbai while 21-year-old Aaron is a talented bowler who hails from Indian captain Mahendra Singh Dhoni's home state of Jharkhand.

Opener Gautam Gambhir, who was doubtful for the one-days after suffering a kind concussion while fielding in the Oval Test on Saturday, was declared fit.

India were depleted by injuries to senior players such as Yuvraj Singh, Zaheer Khan, Harbhajan Singh and Praveen Kumar during the Test series, and England won series by huge margins.

The limited-over’s leg of the tour starts with a Twenty20 international at Manchester on August 31, followed by five one-day matches between September 3 and 16.

With Sehwag ruled out, India was won the World Cup final against Sri Lanka in Mumbai on April 2.
Dhoni, Sachin Tendulkar, Gambhir, Virat Kohli, Suresh Raina and Munaf Patel will be the only survivors from the champion team.

Zaheer, Harbhajan and Yuvraj had already been ruled out of the one-dayers, at the same time as Shanthakumaran Sreesanth was dropped.

Revised limited-overs squad: Mahendra Singh Dhoni (capt), Gautam Gambhir, Ajinkya Rahane, Rahul Dravid, Sachin Tendulkar, Virat Kohli, Suresh Raina, Rohit Sharma, Ravichandran Ashwin, Munaf Patel, Praveen Kumar, Vinay Kumar, Varun Aaron, Amit Mishra, Parthiv Patel, Rudra Pratap Singh.


Post a Comment