Chennai Super Kings IPL 2015 Squad Delhi Daredevils IPL 2015 Squad Kings XI Punjab IPL 2015 Squad Kolkata Knight Riders IPL 2015 SquadMumbai Indians IPL 2015 Squad Rajasthan Royals IPL 2015 Squad Royal Challengers Bangalore IPL 2015 Squad Sunrisers Hyderabad IPL 2015 Squad


Saturday, 6 September 2014

Stats Highlights: England vs India, 5th ODI | Royal London ODI Series


Alastair Cook was captaining England for the 63rd time in an ODI. He now holds the record of captaining England on most occasions in ODIs, surpassing Andrew Strauss’ tally of 62 matches. (Also Read: Joe Root century sets up win for England)

Cook also became England’s leading run-scoring captain in ODIs. At the end of this match his tally stands at 2383, which takes him past Strauss’ tally of 2367 runs. (Also Read: Skipper MS Dhoni lists positives from England series and points out areas that need improvement)

Joe Root (113) made his second ODI hundred in 36th match. This was also his highest score in ODIs. He had made 107 against West Indies at North South earlier this year.

At 23 years 249 days Root is the third youngest England batsman to score an ODI hundred in England after David Gower (21 years 55 days) and Alastair Cook (22 years 239 days).

Before this match, Root had scored 448 runs in 20 matches at home at an average of 23.58 with a highest of 68, which was also the only time he crossed fifty at home.

For the sixth consecutive time side batting first posted a total of 275 or more in an ODI at Leeds. 

James Anderson dismissed Virat Kohli for the fifth time in the series (Tests and ODIs). Of the 64 balls Kohli faced from Anderson in the series, he managed to score only 25 runs.

Ravindra Jadeja (87) made his highest score in ODIs, beating 78 he made against England at The Oval in 2011. 

R Jadeja’s innings is the highest by a number 7 Indian batsman along with Mohammad Kaif’s 87* also against England at Lord’s in 2002.

Jadeja’s innings is also the second highest by a number 7 batsman against England after New Zealand’s Jacob Oram’s 88 at Auckland in 2008.

After winning eight consecutive ODIs India finally lost an ODI in England.

Suresh Raina won man of the series award. He had also won the award in last series between these two sides (in 2013 in India).

source: bcci.tv


Post a Comment