Chennai Super Kings IPL 2015 Squad Delhi Daredevils IPL 2015 Squad Kings XI Punjab IPL 2015 Squad Kolkata Knight Riders IPL 2015 SquadMumbai Indians IPL 2015 Squad Rajasthan Royals IPL 2015 Squad Royal Challengers Bangalore IPL 2015 Squad Sunrisers Hyderabad IPL 2015 Squad


Tuesday, 25 March 2014

Report: India vs Sri Lanka (Women), WT20, 2014


India Women lost their opening match of 2014 ICC World Twenty20 to Sri Lanka Women by 22 runs at the Sylhet Stadium. Chasing 129 runs, the Mithali Raj-led side succumbed to the SL attack and was restricted to 106 for nine by them. (Also Read: Report: India vs Ireland (Women), WT20 Warm-up, 2014)

Earlier, SL Women posted 128 for eight, courtesy a 43-run knock by opener Chamari Atapattu and a 29-ball 34 by Eshani Kaushalya. Opting to bat first, SL lost Yashoda Mendis in the second over with just 14 runs on the board. Gouher Sultana provided India with their first breakthrough early in the innings, while Soniya Dabir followed up with the wicket of Deepika Rasangika nine runs later. Shashikala Siriwardene was caught by Shikha Pandey off her own bowling after contributing just five runs to the total. (Also Read: Report: New Zealand vs India (Women), WT20 Warm-up, 2014)

Kaushalya then joined Atapattu in the middle and the pair took the team to 83, before the opener was castled by Harmanpreet Kaur. The middle-order batter played a cameo and added useful runs to set a competitive target, before being sent back in the last over by Poonam Yadav. While Kaushalya had worked to keep the scoreboard ticking, Oshadi Ranasinghe was run out without providing much support. However, Chamari Polgampola chipped in with a nine-ball 13. Yadav, who claimed Kaushalya’s scalp, also accounted for Udeshika Prabodhani, who was stumped with a ball left in the innings. Inoka Ranaweera then added two off the last ball. (Also Read: Women's T20 World Cup 2014 - Schedule and Fixtures)

The Indian eves got off to a start similar to their opposition. They lost Smriti Mandhana in the second over with 10 runs on the scorecard.

Shashikala Siriwardene, who ran out Mandhana, also claimed Mithali Raj lbw a while later. Picking two wickets each, Maduri Samuddika,

 Ranaweera and Prabodhani, sent back Indian batters at regular intervals, to leave their opponents tottering on 93 for eight. Although India reached the three-figure mark, it was a bit too late in the innings. With SL Women firmly in the driver’s seat, India’s lower-order bat Yadav was run out on the last ball of the penultimate over. With just six balls left in the innings and 29 runs to win, there was little that Karu Jain and Sultana could do as they saw the final over through.

Sri Lanka Women 128 for 8 (Atapattu 43, Yadav 2-20) beat India Women 106 for 9 (Pandey 22, Prabodhani 2-9) by 22 runs

source: bcci.tv

For the latest India Cricket newslike us on Facebook or follow us on Twitter.



Post a Comment