Chennai Super Kings IPL 2015 Squad Delhi Daredevils IPL 2015 Squad Kings XI Punjab IPL 2015 Squad Kolkata Knight Riders IPL 2015 SquadMumbai Indians IPL 2015 Squad Rajasthan Royals IPL 2015 Squad Royal Challengers Bangalore IPL 2015 Squad Sunrisers Hyderabad IPL 2015 Squad


Sunday, 30 March 2014

Report: Bangladesh vs India (Women), WT20, 2014


India Women registered their first win of the ICC World T20, 2014 with a 79-run win over Bangladesh Women at the Sylhet Stadium in Bangladesh. A magnificent 77-run whirlwind knock by Harmanpreet Kaur helped India set Bangladesh a challenging target in the match. The Jhulan Goswami-led attack then strengthened the team’s position by dealing early blows. Goswami and Shubhlakshmi Sharma claimed three wickets each to hold Bangladesh to 72 for eight to claim a comprehensive victory. (Also Read: Report: England vs India (Women), WT20, 2014)

Electing to bat, Mithali Raj and Harmanpreet Kaur got the India off to a flying start with a 107-run opening stand. Kaur joined Raj, who has been in good form, and joined in milking the opposition bowlers as they laid the foundation for India. Raj set the tone of the game with couple of boundaries off Jahanara Alam in the second over. Boundaries came at frequent intervals as the pair kept the scoreboard ticking. It was only when the innings was approaching its last quarter that Bangladesh got their first breakthrough of the game. Khadija Tul Kubra had the India captain stumped for 41. (Also Read: Report: India vs Sri Lanka (Women), WT20, 2014)

Goswami who replaced her in the middle was dismissed by Rumana Ahmed in the next over after adding just two runs to the total. Kaur however continued to take on the Bangladesh bowlers as she added to the total. Soniya Dabir was the next to be bowled by Ahmed. With couple of overs left and India comfortably placed on 135 Alam accounted for Kaur’s wicket. The opener had until then scored 77 off 59 balls to keep the balance tipped in her team’s favour. Although a wicket fell in the penultimate over, Punam Raut helped collect 11 runs off it. Shubhalakshmi Sharma was the next to be sent back in the last over. But with five runs coming off the last over, India had set Bangladesh a 152-run target. 

Defending the target, Poonam Yadav dealt the first blow to send back Ayasha Rahman with 22 runs on the board. Goswami then followed up with wickets of Fargana Haque and Rumana Ahmed to leave the opposition on 39 for three. 11 runs later Yadav accounted for Salma Khatun’s wicket. Sharma too joined in and claimed three wickets to keep Bangladesh on a tight leash. Although they didn’t bowl out the opposition, the Indian women claimed wickets and kept the flow of runs in check and sailed to a win. 

India Women 151 for 5 (Harmanpreet 77, Raj 41) beat Bangladesh Women 72 for 8 (Goswami 3-11, Shubhlakshmi 3-12) by 79 runs

source: bcci.tv

For the latest India Cricket newslike us on Facebook or follow us on Twitter.



Post a Comment