Chennai Super Kings IPL 2015 Squad Delhi Daredevils IPL 2015 Squad Kings XI Punjab IPL 2015 Squad Kolkata Knight Riders IPL 2015 SquadMumbai Indians IPL 2015 Squad Rajasthan Royals IPL 2015 Squad Royal Challengers Bangalore IPL 2015 Squad Sunrisers Hyderabad IPL 2015 Squad


Wednesday, 25 February 2015

Ranji Trophy 2014-15: Semi Final, Vinay Kumar took 6 Wickets

Vinay Kumar took 6 Wickets against Mumbai, Ranji Trophy 2014-15
File Photo
Bowlers set the tone of the match in the first semi-final between Karnataka and Mumbai as 21 wickets fell on Day 1. While Mumbai’s Shardul Thakur picked four to help bowl the opposition out in two sessions, Vinay Kumar claimed 6/20 to bundle Mumbai out in 15.3 overs. The other clash in Kolkata was less eventful in comparison as Dinesh Karthik and Vijay Shankar took Tamil Nadu to stumps on 192 for 3. Here are the highlights at the end of first day’s play.

Karnataka vs Mumbai: Bowlers dominated at the M Chinnaswamy Stadium as both sides disintegrated on the first day of the semi-final clash. After Karnataka opted to bat on their home ground, the Shardul Thakur-led attack ran through the hosts’ line-up in the first two sessions. While Robin Uthappa top-scored with 68, Karun Nair was stranded on 49 as wickets crumbled at the other end. Thakur picked four while Wilkin Mota took two to bowl Karnataka out for 202. But the last session proved even more eventful as the Vinay Kumar-led attack dismantled the Mumbai line-up. The Karnataka captain bagged 6 for 20 while Sreenath Arvind took two and Abhimanyu Mithun picked one to wrap up the visitors’ innings. With Abhishek Nayar absent hurt due to an injury sustained while fielding, Mumbai's first innings was ended for 44 for 9. 

Karnataka, who were back in the middle for the second time in the day, then lost both their openers with ten runs on the board. Thakur accounted for Uthappa while Balwinder Singh Sandhu sent back Lokesh Rahul. 

10 for 2 at stumps, Karnataka were leading by 168 runs in the second innings at the end of day’s play.

Score Card:
Karnataka 202 (Robin Uthappa 68, Karun Nair 49*, Shardul 4/61, Shardul 2/18) and 10/2 (Shardul 1/8, B S Sandhu 1/2); Mumbai 44 (Vinay Kumar 6/20, Arvind Sreenath 2/1)

Tamil Nadu vs Maharashtra: In the second semi-final at Eden Gardens, TN were 192 for 3 at close of play on the first day. Electing to bat first, they were 90 for 3 until Vijay Shankar joined Dinesh Karthik in resisting the Maharashtra attack. Karthik was batting on 48 with Shankar on 56 when play ended for the day. Samad Fallah, Anupam Sanklecha and Dominic Muthuswamy claimed a wicket each earlier in the day.

Score Card: 
Tamil Nadu 192/3 (87 ov)
Dinesh Karthik 48* (156), Vijay Shankar 56* (97), D J Muthuswamy 1/38, S M Fallah 1/48

source: bcci.tv

RANJI TROPHY LINKS: News & Interviews | Squad | Fixtures 

For LIVE SCORE UPDATES Follow us on Facebook | Twitter | Google+


Post a Comment