Chennai Super Kings IPL 2015 Squad Delhi Daredevils IPL 2015 Squad Kings XI Punjab IPL 2015 Squad Kolkata Knight Riders IPL 2015 SquadMumbai Indians IPL 2015 Squad Rajasthan Royals IPL 2015 Squad Royal Challengers Bangalore IPL 2015 Squad Sunrisers Hyderabad IPL 2015 Squad


Sunday, 14 December 2014

Ranji Trophy 2014-15: Hanuma Vihari scores 163*, Waseem Raza 5 Wickets


On the first day of the second round of the multi-day domestic tournament, bowlers dominated play in most games. Hyderabad’s Tanmay Agarwal (114*) and GH Vihari (163*) were the only batsman to score centuries on Day 1. J&K spinner Waseem Raza claimed a fifer against Tamil Nadu while Ashoke Dinda picked four wickets against Karnataka. Here are the highlights of the day: (Also Read: Fixtures & Results: Ranji Trophy 2014-15)

Group A

Bengal vs Karnataka: Opting to field at the Eden Gardens, Bengal dominated the proceedings on the first day. Ashoke Dinda removed Robin Uthappa off the second ball of the day and followed up with the wicket of Mayank Agarwal in his next over to leave Karnataka on 9/2. With Veerpratap Singh, the pacer had reduced the visitors to 69/5 in the 21st over. Dinda claimed four while Singh picked three wickets during the course of the day. CM Gautam was the highest scorer for Karnataka with 63. At stumps the visitors were 237/7 with Vinay Kumar (42*) and Shreyas Gopal (27*) in the middle.

J & K vs Tamil Nadu:
 On a day dominated by the bowlers, J&K's left-arm spinner Waseem Raza ran through the batting line-up after TN opted to bat at the NPS College ground. The spinner claimed 5/68, Samiullah Beigh picked 2/23 while Parvez Rasool and M Gupta chipped in with a wicket each to bowl Tamil Nadu out for 254. M Rangarajan was the highest scorer for TN with 93. 

With Rahil Shah, Aushik Srinivas and Rangarajan picking a wicket each J&K were 28/3 at stumps.

Madhya Pradesh vs Uttar Pradesh: 
Captain Devendra Bundela's 80 and Rameez Khan's 52 helped MP to 195/7 after MP were asked to bat by UP. The rest of the lineup caved in to Praveen Kumar and RP Singh. Praveen finished the day with 3/14 while Singh picked 3/55 as they routed the MP lineup. At stumps SK Mishra and Puneet Datey were in the middle.

Railways vs Mumbai: Mumbai elected to bowl first against Railways’ Karnail Singh Stadium in Delhi and had left the hosts on 25/2 when play was called off for the day. Electing to field, Shardul Thakur and Javed Khan claimed Asad Pathan and Abhishek Kaushik respectively. At stumps NS Bhille was batting on eight while Arindam Gosh was yet to open his account.

Group B 

Haryana vs Maharashtra: Haryana were 41/2 when play was called off in Rohtak. Only 17.5 overs of play could take place after Maharashtra elected to field in the second round of the ongoing tournament. Samad Fallah claimed both the wickets that fell during the day. At stumps, hosts’ opener Avi Barot was batting on 20 with Sachin Rana who was yet to open his account.

Odisha vs Gujarat: After Gujarat elected to field, Rush Kalaria struck in the first over to leave Odisha on 0/2. Opener Natraj Behera however held the innings together with a well compiled 75 until he was run out late in the last session. Kalaria returned with a five-wicket haul while Kushang Patel and Axar Patel picked a wicket each. At stumps Odisha were 219/8 with Halhadar Das (32*) and Suryakant Pradhan at the crease.

Vidarbha vs Punjab: 
Electing to field, Vidarbha bowled Punjab out for 195 and were 3/0 at stumps on Day 1. Shrikant Wagh (2 wickets) and Swapnil Bandiwar (2 wickets) claimed the top-order while Rakesh Dhruv (4/56) ran through the rest of the lineup. Ravikumar Thakur and Ravi Jangid pitched in with a wicket each. Gurkeerat Singh was the top-scorer for Punjab with 75 runs.

Group C

Andhra vs Kerala: The end of the opening stand for 55 in the 27th over triggered a batting collapse leaving Kerala on 95/6. D Shivkumar who claimed opener VA Jagadeesh accounted for three wickets while CV Stephan picked two and PD Vijaykumar took the important wicket of Sanju Samson. Raiphi Gomez led Kerala's revival and was batting on 74 with U Manukrishnan on 28 at stumps. At the end of day's play, Kerala were 206/7.

Assam vs Jharkhand: Asked to bat, Assam were 133/6 at the end of Day 1. After Ajay Yadav claimed opener Pallavkumar Das, Rituraj Singh followed up with the wicket of Dheeraj Jadhav. Sibsankar Roy battled on to make 32 off 93 and had helped the team to 97/3 with KB Arun Karthik until he was trapped lbw by Samar Quadri. While wickets fell at the other end, Karthik was batting on 55 when play ended for the day with Abu Nechim Ahmed (5*).

Hyderabad vs Goa: Asked to bat at the Rajiv Gandhi International Stadium, Hyderabad finished the day on 290/1. Asked to bat in their backyard, Tanmay Agarwal and GH Vihari scored centuries after Akshath Reddy was sent back by Saurabh Bandekar for 4. 

Agarwal was batting on 114 while Vihari was on 163 at stumps.

Services vs Tripura: No play

source: bcci.tv


Post a Comment