Chennai Super Kings IPL 2015 Squad Delhi Daredevils IPL 2015 Squad Kings XI Punjab IPL 2015 Squad Kolkata Knight Riders IPL 2015 SquadMumbai Indians IPL 2015 Squad Rajasthan Royals IPL 2015 Squad Royal Challengers Bangalore IPL 2015 Squad Sunrisers Hyderabad IPL 2015 Squad


Sunday, 26 January 2014

Report: India vs Sri Lanka (Women) – 2nd T20I, Vizianagaram


India Women pulled off a nine-run victory to level the three-match T20I series 1-1. After posting 127 runs on board, the Mithali Raj-led side struck at regular intervals and effected four run-outs to restrict Sri Lanka Women to 118 for eight in the second T20I at the Dr PVG Raju ACA Sports Complex. (Also Read: Report: India vs Sri Lanka (Women) – 1st T20I, Vizianagaram)

Earlier, upon being inserted to bat first, India Women scored 127 for the loss of eight wickets. Opening the batting for the home team, Vanitha VR was the first to be sent back by Eshani Lokusooriya with 13 runs on the board, in the first over. A little later, Udeshika Prabodini dealt a double-blow. The Sri Lankan pacer castled Mithali Raj and Anangha Deshpande to leave India women on 26 for three. Three runs later, Harmanpreet Kaur too was back in the dressing room, bowled by Sripali Weerakkody. India continued to lose wickets at regular intervals as the innings progressed.

Shashikala Siriwardena claimed Veda Krishnamurthy and later dismissed S Subbalaxmi, while Prabodini sent back Amita Shamra. Jhulan Goswami was run out for 23. Soniya Dabir saw the team through to their full quota of 20 overs and was unbeaten on 23 with Sneh Rana.

Defending the total, the hosts ran out Lasanthi Madushani for naught in the first over. Then, Goswami disrupted Lokusooriya's stumps to leave the visitors reeling on 15 for two.

Amita Sharma then trapped Siriwardene leg-before, bringing Yasoda Mendis to the crease. After adding 27 runs with Chamari Athapaththu, Mendis returned to the pavilion. The middle-order batter was sent back for 14 Rajeshwari Gayakwad. And with the score on 96, Athapaththu was run out. Then, a run later, Sripali Weerakkody too was run out by substitute Poonam Raut.

With the match heading for a close finish, Chamari Polgampala joined Oshadi Ranasinghe in the middle. With Sri Lanka still 27 runs away, Dabir accounted for Ranasinghe. And a bit later, Anushka Sanjeewani was run out, leaving the visitors on 112 for eight.

Polgampala continued to strive towards the target with Prabodini, but the duo was not able to take Sri Lanka across the line and seal the series as the India bowlers kept them on a tight leash till the end.

For the latest Cricket news, like us on Facebook or follow us on Twitter


Post a Comment