Chennai Super Kings IPL 2015 Squad Delhi Daredevils IPL 2015 Squad Kings XI Punjab IPL 2015 Squad Kolkata Knight Riders IPL 2015 SquadMumbai Indians IPL 2015 Squad Rajasthan Royals IPL 2015 Squad Royal Challengers Bangalore IPL 2015 Squad Sunrisers Hyderabad IPL 2015 Squad


Friday, 17 May 2013

KXIP vs DD - M67 Report & Stats: IPL 2013

Match Report:

Kings XI Punjab kept alive their hopes in the Pepsi IPL 2013 with a seven-run win over the Delhi Daredevils at the HPCA Stadium in Dharamsala on Thursday. Batting first, KXIP posted 171 and their bowlers did well to defend DD to 164.

Adam Gilchrist (R) spins the coin during toss of match 67 of the Pepsi Indian Premier League between The Kings XI Punjab and the Delhi Daredevils held at the HPCA Stadium in Dharamsala, Himachal Pradesh, India on the on the 16th May 2013
Chasing 172, DD got off to a lucky start as Azhar Mahmood dropped Mahela Jayawardene at slip off Praveen Kumar in the first over. Unmukt Chand (7) creamed Kumar for a six through cover before he had his stumps rattled a couple of balls later. Sandeep Sharma then struck twice, having Irfan Pathan (1) and David Warner (0) caught at slip off consecutive deliveries to leave DD reeling at 12 for three. 

Virender Sehwag smashed two boundaries off Piyush Chawla, introduced into the attack in the tenth over, as DD moved to 57 for three, still requiring 115 runs. Sehwag (30) edged Parwinder Awana to wicket-keeper to leave DD four down in the eleventh over. Jayawardene was once again dropped, this time Mandeep Singh off Chawla. Jayawardene made the most of the lapse and hit Chawla for a six and a four in the 14th over.

Needing 72 from 30 balls, DD lost Jayawardene (39) at the start of the 17th over after he mistimed Sharma to be caught by Manan Vohra at deep square-leg. Ben Rohrer however kept going as he hit a six off Sharma. He continued his hard-hitting, smashing two sixes off Mahmood to leave his team to score 22 off the last over. Rohrer (49) was bowled by Chawla with the first delivery of the final over. Despite a couple of sixes by Morne Morkel, DD finished seven runs short.

Earlier, DD won the toss and elected to field. Shaun Marsh got KXIP to a brisk start with consecutive boundaries off Irfan Pathan in the first over. Adam Gilchrist was given a reprieve when he was put down by Umesh Yadav (off Morne Morkel) on eight. Gilchrist then took apart Ashish Nehra’s second over – the sixth of the innings - for 17 runs as he slammed two sixes and a boundary. Gilchrist (42) smashed Pathan for a boundary through midwicket before he miscued one and was dismissed caught and bowled in the eighth over.

Mahmood (9) was sent back by Nehra as Siddarth Kaul pulled off a spectacular catch by the boundary in the 12th over. Marsh went after Yadav in the 16th over hitting him for two boundaries before David Miller followed it with a six. Morkel had Marsh (45) caught in the deep by Pathan before Rajagopal Sathish put him over the fence in the 17th over. Miller (44*) went on an assault in the following over, hitting two sixes and a boundary off Kaul. He then hit another six off Yadav in the 19th over. Satish (22) fell in the last over as KXIP posted 171 for four.

Siddarth Kaul takes the catch to dismiss Azhar Mahmood during match 67 of the Pepsi Indian Premier League between The Kings XI Punjab and the Delhi Daredevils held at the HPCA Stadium in Dharamsala, Himachal Pradesh, India on the on the 16th May 2013
Man-of-the-Match: David Miller 

Brief Scores: Kings XI Punjab 171 for 4 (Shaun Marsh 45, Ashish Nehra 2-38) defeated Delhi Daredevils 164 for 7 (Ben Rohrer 49, Sandeep Sharma 3-23) by 7 runs. 

Stats Highlights:

165.46: David Miller’s strike-rate – best for any batsman facing 100 or more balls in IPL 2013.

90: Number of sixes conceded by Piyush Chawla in IPL – most by any bowler.

50: Number of catches taken by Adam Gilchrist in IPL – first wicketkeeper to do so.

41.57: Shaun Marsh’s batting average – second highest for a batsman playing 100 or more innings in Twenty20 cricket. Only Chris Gayle (45.70) is ahead of him.

12: Number of matches lost by Delhi Daredevils in IPL2013. They have now equaled the record of losing most matches in a single edition of IPL. Deccan Chargers in 2008, Pune Warriors India in 2012 and 2013 also lost 12 matches.

5: Number of times Virender Sehwag has not opened the innings in IPL. Three of these instances came in IPL 2009 in South Africa. The last time Sehwag did not open was against Chennai Super Kings at Chennai in 2012. He scored 1 off 6 balls.

Presentation quotes

Jayawardene: The wicket did a bit and their bowlers did well. That's the season for us, very close but not close enough. Needed to settle in, they bowled good areas, we lost wickets, Ben batted well but wasn't good enough. We wanted to change a few things, up front was going to be tough so changed them. Need to reduce our mistakes.

Gilchrist: Slight chance yep, watch with interest what happens next couple of days. There's no better place to play cricket in the world than this, it's a beautiful place here. Miller's come off age this season, the world now knows his value. Not surprised with Sandeep's success, he's aggressive and you want to keep an eye on it.

David Miller is the man of the match: Enjoyed hitting the straighter six more than the others. It's a small ground here and if you can hit hard enough, the mis-hits can go for a six too. In nets, try and practice as close as possible to the game situation.

source: iplt20.com


Post a Comment