Chennai Super Kings IPL 2015 Squad Delhi Daredevils IPL 2015 Squad Kings XI Punjab IPL 2015 Squad Kolkata Knight Riders IPL 2015 SquadMumbai Indians IPL 2015 Squad Rajasthan Royals IPL 2015 Squad Royal Challengers Bangalore IPL 2015 Squad Sunrisers Hyderabad IPL 2015 Squad


Wednesday, 29 May 2013

ICC Champions Trophy - India's year-wise performance

The ICC Champions Trophy is the only crown missing from skipper Mahendra Singh Dhoni's cabinet. He captained India in the 2009-10 edition of the 50-over tournament but India failed miserably and were unable to qualify for the semi-finals. India's pride was hurt when they lost to traditional rivals Pakistan and the match against Australia was washed out. 

Under Dhoni's captaincy India have scaled cricket's top summits. After India won the inaugural ICC T20 world championship in 2007, Dhoni's men clinched the 2011 World Cup and also became the No. 1 Test team in the world. 

This is the last edition of the Champions Trophy, which started in 1998 in Dhaka as the Mini World Cup. India will open the 2013 tournament against South Africa on June 6 in Cardiff in Wales and follow it up with matches against the West Indies (The Oval, June 11) and Pakistan (Edgbaston, June 15) in the group stages. 

India have never beaten Pakistan in the tournament's history plus revenge will be on their minds especially after losing 2-1 to the Men in Green in a 3-match ODI series at home in December 2012. 

India ended runners-up to New Zealand in 2000 (Nairobi) and in 2002, shared the title with hosts Sri Lanka after the final was washed out twice. 

India's year-wise performance

1998 (Dhaka): Captained by Mohammad Azharuddin, India reached the semi-finals after knocking out Australia in the quarters, courtesy Sachin Tendulkar's 141-run knock and 4 wickets. However, India finally lost to the West Indies by 6 wickets.

Squad: Mohammad Azharuddin (captain), Ajit Agarkar, Nikhil Chopra, Rahul Dravid, Sourav Ganguly, Ajay Jadeja, Sunil Joshi, Anil Kumble, V. V. S. Laxman, Nayan Mongia, Venkatesh Prasad, Robin Singh, Javagal Srinath, Sachin Tendulkar. 

2000 (Nairobi): Sourav Ganguly-led India beat Australia again in quarterfinals by 20 runs. This time it was a young Yuvraj Singh who rose to the occasion and scored almost a-run-a-ball 84. In the semi-finals, Ganguly led from front and struck 141 as India hammered South Africa by 90 runs in the semi-finals. In the final against New Zealand, Ganguly's 117 went in vain as the Kiwis chased down India's 265-run target. A limping Chris Cairns bagged the Man of the Match award for his 102 not out.

Squad: Sourav Ganguly (captain), Sachin Tendulkar, Ajit Agarkar, Hemang Badani, Rahul Dravid, Vinod Kambli, Anil Kumble, Sunil Joshi, Robin Singh, Yuvraj Singh, Sridharan Sriram, Venkatesh Prasad, Vijay Dahiya (wicket-keeper), Zaheer Khan.

2002 (Sri Lanka): This time the Sourav Ganguly-led side bettered its performance by finishing joint winners with hosts Sri Lanka after the final was washed out twice in the island nation. It was Ganguly's young brigade of Mohammad Kaif, Zaheer Khan, Virender Sehwag and Yuvraj that showcased their talent with match-winning performances.

Squad: Sourav Ganguly (captain), Rahul Dravid, Sachin Tendulkar, Virender Sehwag, Dinesh Mongia, Mohammad Kaif, Anil Kumble, Harbhajan Singh, Zaheer Khan, Ajit Agarkar, Yuvraj Singh, Jai Prakash Yadav, Ashish Nehra, VVS Laxman, Javagal Srinath.

2004 (England): India started the tourney well against Kenya, beating them 98 runs. India lost to Pakistan by 3 wickets in a low-scoring game at Edgbaston. This was the first time that the traditional rivals met in the tournament's history. The defeat against Pakistan ended India's campaign and they lost out on a semi-finals spot for the first time in event's history.

Squad: Sourav Ganguly (captain), Virender Sehwag, Rahul Dravid, VVS Laxman, Yuvraj Singh, Mohammad Kaif, Ajit Agarkar, Dinesh Karthik, Anil Kumble, Harbhajan Singh, Lakshmipathy Balaji, Ashish Nehra, Irfan Pathan, Rohan Gavaskar. 

2006 (India): Under the leadership of Rahul Dravid, India did not make the semifinals. After India managed to beat England by four wickets in their first match, they lost to the West Indies and Australia in their next games. Dravid's 52 against Australia went in vain as India lost by 6 wickets. 

Squad: Rahul Dravid (captain), Ajit Agarkar, MS Dhoni, Harbhajan Singh, Mohammad Kaif, Dinesh Mongia, Munaf Patel, Irfan Pathan, Ramesh Powar, Suresh Raina, Virender Sehwag, RP Singh, Sachin Tendulkar, Yuvraj Singh.

2009 (South Africa): India entered the tournament as favourites but once again failed to make the semifinals. Chasing a 303-run target, India lost their opening match against Pakistan by 54 runs. Their next game against Australia was washed out. However, India registered a convincing 7-wicket win over the West Indies. Virat Kohli played a vital 79-run knock off 104 balls to ensure India did not return home winless.

Squad: MS Dhoni (c & wk), Rahul Dravid, Gautam Gambhir (vc), Harbhajan Singh, Dinesh Karthik, Virat Kohli, Praveen Kumar, Amit Mishra, Abhishek Nayar, Ashish Nehra, Yusuf Pathan, Suresh Raina, Ishant Sharma, RP Singh, Sachin Tendulkar, Yuvraj Singh. 

Indian squad for 2013 tournament in England:

MS Dhoni (captain), Shikhar Dhawan, Virat Kohli, Suresh Raina, Dinesh Karthik, M Vijay, Rohit Sharma, Ravindra Jadeja, R Ashwin, Irfan Pathan, Umesh Yadav, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Ishant Sharma, Amit Mishra, Vinay Kumar.


Post a Comment