Chennai Super Kings IPL 2015 Squad Delhi Daredevils IPL 2015 Squad Kings XI Punjab IPL 2015 Squad Kolkata Knight Riders IPL 2015 SquadMumbai Indians IPL 2015 Squad Rajasthan Royals IPL 2015 Squad Royal Challengers Bangalore IPL 2015 Squad Sunrisers Hyderabad IPL 2015 Squad


Friday, 3 May 2013

CSK vs KXIP - M45 Report & Stats: IPL 2013

Match Report:

Chennai Super Kings became the first team to seal a berth in the Pepsi IPL 2013 Play-Offs with a thrilling last over win over Kings XI Punjab at the MA Chidambaram Stadium in Chennai. CSK, riding on Suresh Raina's superb unbeaten 100, posted a formidable 186, and then kept KXIP down to 171, 15 runs short. This victory was CSK’s seventh consecutive victory this season – equaling RCB’s record run of consecutive wins in 2011.

Suresh Raina celebrates his century during match 45 of the Pepsi Indian Premier League between The Chennai Superkings and the Kings XI Punjab held at the MA Chidambaram Stadium in Chennai on the 2nd May 2013
Chasing 187, KXIP were jolted early as Mohit Sharma knocked back Luke Pomersbach's (7) stump in the second over. Mandeep Singh was put down on seven by Dwayne Bravo off Sharma. The bowler came back strongly, dismissing Mandeep (15) caught by Raina at extra-cover. Sharma was dispatched for two boundaries in the 8th over as David Hussey and Shaun Marsh started to rebuild their innings. At the halfway stage, KXIP were 65 for 2, still needing 122 runs.

David Hussey (22) stepped out and slammed Ravichandran Ashwin for a six before perishing a couple balls later caught by Bravo at long-off. Marsh took 19 runs from Raina’s only over – the 12th of the innings - with two sixes and a boundary. David Miller and Marsh put on 95 runs for the fourth wicket. Needing 65 off the final 30 balls, Marsh hit Bravo for two boundaries. Miller (51*) continued his assault with consecutive boundaries off Chris Morris before scoring a six off Bravo to reduce the equation to 30 from 12 balls. KXIP managed 11 runs in the penultimate over. With 19 needed from 6 balls, Bravo dismissed Marsh (73), Gurkeerat Singh (0) and Rajagopal Sathish (0) to herald victory for the home team. 

Earlier CSK won toss and elected to bat. Wriddiman Saha slammed Praveen Kumar for a six before cutting him away for a boundary in the third over. Saha (18) then hit Parvinder Awana straight to Marsh at deep square-leg to give KXIP their first wicket. Raina survived a run out attempt on four when the TV Umpire gave the batsman the benefit of doubt after replays could not convincingly show the batsman to be out of his ground. CSK made 36 from the Power Play.

CSK started to accelerate, as Michael Hussey (35) pulled Manpreet Gony for two boundaries before Chawla fired in a flatter delivery and had him stumped. Raina continued attacking with a six off Chawla. R Sathish ran out CSK skipper MS Dhoni (2) with a brilliant piece of fielding. Raina launched two massive sixes off Gony before smashing Sathish for consecutive boundaries. Albie Morkel joined in, depositing Sathish into the crowd in the 17th over. Awana had Morkel (23) caught by David Miller in the 19th over. Raina brought up his maiden IPL century in the final over as CSK made 186 for four.

Man-of-the-Match: Suresh Raina 

Brief Scores: Chennai Super Kings: 186 for 4 (Suresh Raina 100*, Parvinder Awana 2-29) defeated Kings XI Punjab 171 for 6 (Shaun Marsh 73, Dwayne Bravo 3-34) by 15 runs. 

Stats Highlights:

100: Runs scored by Suresh Raina in the match – highest innings by a left-handed Indian batsman in IPL. Raina bettered his own record of 98* against Rajasthan Royals at Centurion in 2009.

84: Runs scored by Suresh Raina off the bowling of Piyush Chawla in IPL. There have been only three better performances. Suresh Raina himself has scored 92 runs off the bowling of Sidarth Trivedi, Albie Morkel had 89 off Shane Warne and Gautam Gambhir has scored 87 runs off the bowling of Albie Morkel.

58.16: David Miller’s batting average in IPL – highest for any batsman playing a minimum of 10 innings.

33: Number of wickets taken by R Ashwin at Chennai - most by any bowler. He equaled Albie Morkel’s tally.

21: Number of batsmen to score hundreds in IPL. In total 27 hundreds have been scored in IPL The break-up: Royal Challengers Bangalore – 5, Delhi Daredevils – 5, Kings XI Punjab-4, Chennai Super Kings- 4, Rajasthan Royals-3, Mumbai Indians- 3, Sunrisers Hyderabad – 2, Kolkata Knight Riders-1. Incidentally Raina is the ninth Indian batsman to score a hundred in IPL.

7: Number of consecutive matches won by Chennai Super Kings. They equal the IPL record of most consecutive wins by a side. Royal Challengers Bangalore had also won seven in a row in 2011.

Michael Hussey with the Orange Cap and Dwayne Bravo with the Purple Cap during match 45 of the Pepsi Indian Premier League between The Chennai Superkings and the Kings XI Punjab held at the MA Chidambaram Stadium in Chennai on the 2nd May 2013 
Post-match presentation

David Hussey: "Probably the last three overs with the ball (we let it go). Shaun Marsh and David Miller fantastic partership. I reckon we can five out of six."

MS Dhoni: "I won't say it is a fortress, I don't think we have performed as well as in the fourth edition of the IPL. We are getting better with every game. We did really well today, Raina batted well with Hussey, the bowling department also overall quite happy, just one tactical error in bringing in Raina. Performance was really great. We had four fast bowlers, in this format if you are doing well, just go through with them, if you hold them for later they could also go for runs."

Man of the Match is Suresh Raina. "Feels amazing when you know you have won the game, last hundred I missed out in South Africa. 180 target is not safe on this track."

source: iplt20.com


Post a Comment