Chennai Super Kings IPL 2015 Squad Delhi Daredevils IPL 2015 Squad Kings XI Punjab IPL 2015 Squad Kolkata Knight Riders IPL 2015 SquadMumbai Indians IPL 2015 Squad Rajasthan Royals IPL 2015 Squad Royal Challengers Bangalore IPL 2015 Squad Sunrisers Hyderabad IPL 2015 Squad


Thursday, 30 May 2013

10 Best Matches - ICC Champions Trophy


South Africa v West Indies, Final, Dhaka, 1 November 1998

South Africa clinched its first, and still only, major trophy in the inaugural ICC Champions Trophy. Philo Wallace got the West Indies into a good position in the final but when he was dismissed for 103 (made off just 102 balls) it collapsed from 180 for three to 245 all out. Jacques Kallis was chiefly responsible for the change in fortunes, taking five wickets at a total cost of 30. West Indies kept itself in the hunt with regular wickets in the run-chase before Hansie Cronje (61 not out) saw his team home with four wickets and three overs to spare. 

Australia v India, Quarter-Final, 7 October 2000, Nairobi

Australia twice put itself in a strong position chasing 266 but two mini-collapses from 159 for three and 224 for seven handed this ICC Champions Trophy quarter-final to India. Zaheer Khan picked up the crucial wicket of Steve Waugh (23) in the closing stages and when Brett Lee (31) fell in the next over there was only one winner. Yuvraj Singh had earlier dominated the India innings with 84 off 80 balls while Sourav Ganguly (24) and Sachin Tendulkar (38) gave their side a good opening platform.

India v New Zealand, Final, 15 October 2000, Nairobi

The second ICC Champions Trophy final was a tale of two spectacular innings that underpinned one of, if not the, most exciting matches in the history of the tournament. Sourav Ganguly hit 117 and was ably supported by Sachin Tendulkar (69) in a first-wicket stand of 141. But from 202 for one at the end of the 39th over India's final 264 for six was slightly disappointing. New Zealand slipped to 132 for five in reply before Chris Cairns blitzed India with 102 not out, adding 122 for the sixth-wicket with Chris Harris 46 to see his side home with two balls to spare.

South Africa v West Indies, Group Stage, 13 September 2002, Colombo

In what was effectively a match to decide a semi-final place, South Africa pulled off a thrilling last-ball run-chase by two wickets. Consistent scoring throughout the West Indies batting line-up saw it end at 238 for eight. Despite being docked an over in its run-chase - due to a slow over-rate - South Africa was coasting at 178 for three but then Boeta Dippenaar (53) and Jonty Rhodes (61) fell in the space of three balls. The game swung both ways until 13 were needed off the last over. With three needed off the final delivery, Mervyn Dillon (four for 60) bowled a wide and then Alan Dawson hit the extra ball to the boundary to seal a dramatic victory. 

India v South Africa, Semi-Final, 25 September 2002, Colombo

When Herschelle Gibbs (116) was smashing India to all parts of the R. Premadasa Stadium there was only one winner in this ICC Champions Trophy semi-final. But from the moment the opener was forced to retire hurt from dehydration the match was turned on its head. With Jacques Kallis still at the crease there remained hope but when he fell off the second ball of the final over the game was India's, getting home by 10 runs. Virender Sehwag was an unexpected hero with the ball, taking three for 25 in five overs, having already hit 59 off 58 balls. Yuvraj Singh (62) then took India to 261 for nine.

England v West Indies, ICC Champions Trophy, 25 September 2004, The Oval

West Indies pulled off a thrilling run-chase in this ICC Champions Trophy final to secure its first ICC title since 1979. Chasing 218 for a win, West Indies found itself at 147 for eight before wicketkeeper Courtney Browne and medium-fast bowler Ian Bradshaw steered their side to an unlikely victory in an unbeaten ninth-wicket stand of 71. Opener Marcus Trescothick had earlier dominated the England innings, scoring 104 before he was run out in the 48th over. Wavell Hinds claimed ODI-best figures of three for 24.

Australia v West Indies, Group Stage, 18 October 2006, Mumbai

Australia was well on the way to victory at 182 for four chasing 235 with Adam Gilchrist (92) and Michael Clarke (47) at the crease. Gilchrist's run out with 8.2 overs to go turned the tide and Jerome Taylor's hat-trick, as part of his four for 49, then finished the job off as Australia finished on 224 for nine, 11 short of the target. West Indies had earlier started poorly but from 63 for four it was rescued by a fifth-wicket stand of 137 between Runako Morton (90 not out) and Brian Lara (71) as it reached 234 for six.

India v West Indies, Group Stage, 26 October 2006, Ahmedabad

West Indies beat India to clinch a semi-final place by three wickets and deny the hosts a place in the last four in the process. Set 224, West Indies had reached 212 for three - with 14 balls to spare - before a dramatic collapse saw it lose four wickets for seven runs. Needing five runs off the last five balls, Marlon Samuels finally hit the winning boundary with two balls to spare. Half-centuries from Shivnarine Chanderpaul and Ramnaresh Sarwan plus 45 from Runako Morton did most of the work for the men from the Caribbean. Ian Bradshaw had earlier taken three for 30 in a tidy fielding display that restricted India to 223 for nine, MS Dhoni top-scoring with 51. 

England v South Africa, Group Stage, 27 September 2009, Centurion

A high-scoring encounter saw England come out on top by 22 runs despite a terrific 141 by South Africa skipper Graeme Smith in the reply. Significant innings by Owais Shah (98 off 89 balls), Paul Collingwood (82 off 94 balls) and Eoin Morgan (67 off 34 balls) took England to 323 for eight. Smith, suffering from cramp towards the end of his innings, was denied a runner by England counterpart Andrew Strauss and the left-hander finally succumbed with 19 balls to go to signal the end of his side's hopes. 

Australia v Pakistan, Group Stage, 30 September 2009, Centurion

Pakistan fought hard to defend a meagre total before Australia sneaked home thanks to a bye off the last ball of the match. Kamran Akmal, Mohammad Yousuf and Misbah-ul-Haq all scored forties but Pakistan could only manage 205-6, Mitchell Johnson and Shane Watson both taking two wickets. Ricky Ponting led from the front in the reply but from 140 for two Australia slumped to 187 for eight. Brett Lee and Nathan Hauritz eked the remaining 19 runs from 25 balls to see their team home by the smallest margin.

source: icc-cricket.com


Post a Comment