Chennai Super Kings IPL 2015 Squad Delhi Daredevils IPL 2015 Squad Kings XI Punjab IPL 2015 Squad Kolkata Knight Riders IPL 2015 SquadMumbai Indians IPL 2015 Squad Rajasthan Royals IPL 2015 Squad Royal Challengers Bangalore IPL 2015 Squad Sunrisers Hyderabad IPL 2015 Squad


Wednesday, 10 April 2013

MI vs DD - M10 Report & Stats: IPL 2013

Match Report:

Mumbai Indians won their first match at home routing Delhi Daredevils by 44 runs. MI, led by electric knocks from Dinesh Karthik and Rohit Sharma, posted a mammoth 209 before their bowlers put on a good show to hand DD their third loss in three matches.

Ricky Ponting captain of Mumbai Indians with Mahela Jayawardene captain of Delhi Daredevils during the toss before the start of match 10 of the Pepsi Indian Premier League ( IPL) 2013 between The Mumbai Indians and the Delhi Daredevils held at the Wankhede Stadium in Mumbai on 9th April 2013
Defending a huge 210, MI struck with the very first ball of the run-chase as Ricky Ponting pulled off a spectacular catch to dismiss Unmukt Chand (0). Mitchell Johnson then struck sending back DD captain, Mahela Jayawardene (3) to further dent the chase. Johnson's 5th over was dispatched for three boundaries as DD, under Warner and Manprit Juneja (49), attempted to rally back.

Juneja survived a few anxious moments as a stumping appeal was referred to the third umpire off Harbhajan Singh. Warner smashed Kieron Pollard for a six and a boundary in his 10th over but despite Warner and Juneja's best efforts, DD still required 126 runs at the halfway stage.

Johnson got rid of the dangerous Warner (61) in the 11th over, caught by Ambati Rayudu at deep point. Pollard then caught Jeevan Mendis (0) of his own bowling and the slide continued as Irfan Pathan (10) holed out, followed by Kedar Jadhav (1) and Shahbaz Nadeem (2). Morne Morkel smashed Johnson for three successive boundaries in the 19th over but it was all a little too late, as the visitors fell short by 44 runs.

Earlier, MI won the toss and chose to bat. MI started badly losing their champion openers, Ricky Ponting (0) and Sachin Tendulkar (1), with just a run on the board. First Pathan had Ponting caught at mid-off before a brilliant throw from Jayawardene caught Tendulkar short of his crease. Dinesh Karthik (86) resurrected the innings with a magnificent counter-attacking knock. He hit Ashish Nehra for a six before following it with a boundary. He and Rohit Sharma (74*) led the charge adding 132 runs for the third wicket.

Karthik brought up his fifty in just 29 deliveries, taking apart Umesh Yadav's 9th over smashing three boundaries. The runs continued to flow as Karthik and Sharma found the fence at will. Karthik was eventually dismissed by Morne Morkel with MI at 133 for 3. Pollard (13) played a few lusty blows before Nehra dismissed him. Rayudu played the perfect cameo near the end scoring 24 of just 8 balls. Rohit Sharma finished the proceedings with a flurry smacking three sixes of the final over to take MI to 209 for 5.

Man-of-the-Match: Dinesh Karthik

Brief Scores: Mumbai Indians 209 for 5 (Dinesh Karthik 86, Ashish Nehra 2-49) beat Delhi Daredevils 165 for 9 (David Warner 61, Pragyan Ojha 2-34) by 44 runs.

Dinesh Karthik of Mumbai Indians celebrates after scoring a half century during match 10 of the Pepsi Indian Premier League ( IPL) 2013 between The Mumbai Indians and the Delhi Daredevils held at the Wankhede Stadium in Mumbai on 9th April 2013 
Stats Highlights:

209: Mumbai Indians’ total – The highest by any side in IPL2013. The previous highest was 162 (for 3) by Royal Challengers Bangalore in the earlier match of the day!

86: Dinesh Karthik’s score – highest by a Mumbai Indians wicketkeeper in IPL.

71: Runs scored by Mumbai Indians in last 5 overs of their innings.

7: Number of sixes hit by Dinesh Karthik in IPL2013- most by a batsman

5: Number of sixes hit by Rohit Sharma – most by a batsman in a match in IPL2013 along with Chris Gayle and Kieron Pollard.

4: Number of batsmen to aggregate 2000 runs in IPL. Rohit Sharma joined Suresh Raina, Gautam Gambhir and Sachin Tendulkar.

3: Number of caught & bowled dismissals in the match – most in an IPL match. There have been 16 instances of two caught & bowled dismissals in a match.

2: Number of ducks scored by Unmukt Chand in IPL2013 – most by any batsman.

1: Mumbai Indians became the first team in IPL to post a total of 200 (or more) against an opponent – both at home and away grounds. They had    made 218 for 7 at Delhi in 2010.

Rohit Sharma player of mumbai indians revives the yes Bank maximmum sixws award after the match 10 of the Pepsi Indian Premier League ( IPL) 2013 between The Mumbai Indians and the Delhi Daredevils held at the Wankhede Stadium in Mumbai on the 9th April 2013

Jayawardene: "We needed a good start, Warner and Manprit batted well but it was around 20-30 runs too much. We were trying to get more wickets, maybe 180 was a par score, we didn't keep to our disciplines. They [Karthik and Rohit] put us under pressure after 6-7 overs, we need to be bit more disciplined against a good line-up on a good wicket. We just need to trust our ability and fight for everything. One win and hopefully we'll turn it around."

Ponting: "I actually lost my footing [during the catch], I slipped at the start. [Harbhajan embracing Ponting], it's taken a few years. To make that kind of score was awesome. We've spoken this tournament about playing with freedom and both Rohit and Dinesh did that today. Things have started coming together quite nicely. We knew if we got Warner we could win the game."

Karthik is deservedly the Man of the Match: "It was a good wicket to bat on, I thought I'd play a few shots and it came off. I was trying to play cricketing shots, nothing out of the book. We got about 375 runs for a T20 game. Rohit batted wonderfully, it was important he batted till the end after I got out and he did that well. It's important to be consistent and help my team win more games."
source: iplt20.com


Post a Comment