Chennai Super Kings IPL 2015 Squad Delhi Daredevils IPL 2015 Squad Kings XI Punjab IPL 2015 Squad Kolkata Knight Riders IPL 2015 SquadMumbai Indians IPL 2015 Squad Rajasthan Royals IPL 2015 Squad Royal Challengers Bangalore IPL 2015 Squad Sunrisers Hyderabad IPL 2015 Squad


Tuesday, 5 March 2013

Statistical highlights: India vs Australia: 2nd Test, Hyderabad

Fourth day's highlights:

# India's triumph by an innings and 135 runs is their second biggest win over Australia in Tests - the biggest being by an innings and 219 runs at Eden Gardens, Kolkata in March 1998.

# The aforesaid win is India's sixth biggest in Tests - the biggest being by an innings and 239 runs against Bangladesh at Dhaka in 2007.

# Overall, India have won four Tests against Australia by an innings - one each at Kolkata, Hyderabad, Mumbai and Sydney.

# India have won 22, lost 38 and drawn 23 (Tied 1) out of 84 played against Australia - winning % 26.19.

# For the first time in Test cricket, a team has lost by an innings after declaring voluntarily in the first innings.

# In the 1981 Leeds Test against England, Australia had declared their first innings at 401 for nine innings and lost by 18 runs.

# Mahendra Singh Dhoni, as captain, has won all six Tests against Australia in India.  Australia have lost six successive overseas Tests to a captain for the first time.

# Dhoni is the only Indian captain to have recorded six wins against Australia in Tests.

# Dhoni, with 22 Test wins out of 45 (winning % 48.88), has set an Indian record for most victories as captain, bettering Sourav Ganguly's tally of 21 victories in 49 (winning % 42.85).

# India have taken an unassailable 2-0 lead in the series.

# Australia's 131 is their joint seventh lowest total against India in Tests - their lowest being 83 at Melbourne in February 1981.

# After failing to take a wicket in his last four innings - second innings against England at Nagpur, both the innings against Australia at Chepauk and the first innings at Hyderabad, Ishant Sharma has claimed his first wicket in the present series.

# Shane Watson has averaged 19.25 in the present series - 77 runs in four innings.  In his last twelve Test innings, his only fifty is 83 against Sri Lanka at Melbourne in December 2012.

# Watson, as a batsman, has produced mediocre performance since January 2011, aggregating 688 in 26 innings (14 Tests), including four fifties.  During the said period, his overseas average is just 23.78 - 452 runs in 19 innings (ten Tests).

# Michael Clarke is averaging 59.29 in first team innings and 42.63 in second team innings.

# Despite his failure in the second innings, Clarke is averaging 69.18 as captain - his run-aggregate being 2560 in 40 innings (23 Tests).

# For the first time an Indian bowler has clean bowled Michael Clarke in both the innings of a Test match - the bowler being Ravindra Jadeja.  The only previous instance when a bowler had clean bowled Clarke was Dale Steyn - Cape Town in March 2009.

# Ed Cowan (44) has recorded his highest score in seven innings - his last Test fifty being 56 against Sri Lanka at Hobart in December 2012.

# Ravindra Jadeja's match figures of six for 66 are his career-best in a Test match.

# Ravichandran Ashwin's tally of 81 wickets (ave.28.93) is the most by an Indian bowler after 14 Tests.  Only two bowlers have bagged more wickets after 14 Tests than Ashwin - T.Richardson (England) - 88 and C.T.B. Turner (Australia) - 83. 

# Ashwin's third five-wicket haul (5/63) against Australia is his eighth in Tests.

# In five Tests against Australia, Ashwin has claimed 27 wickets at an average of 32.11.

# Ashwin has completed 50 wickets in a winning cause - 53 (ave.19.67) in seven Tests.  His tally includes seven instances of five wickets in an innings and two instances of ten wickets in a match.

# The two leading wicket-takers in the first two Tests in the present series are Ashwin (18 at 16.77) and Jadeja (11 at 19.00).

# Cheteshwar Pujara has received his second Man of the Match award - his first against Australia.  Both his double century knocks have earned him the Man of the Match awards.

Man of the Match: Cheteshwar Pujara for his brilliant double-hundred, which helped set the stage for the win.
Brief scores:
At the end of Day 4: Australia 2nd innings 131 all out in 67 overs (Ed Cowan 44, R Ashwin 5/63, R Jadeja 3/33)
At the end of Day 3: India 1st innings 503 all out in 154.1 overs (C Pujara 204, M Vijay 167, MS Dhoni 44, G Maxwell 4/127, X Doherty 3/131); Australia 2nd innings 74/2 in 32 overs (Ed Cowan 26*,  S Watson 9*, R Ashwin 2/42)
At the end of Day 2: India 1st innings 311/1 in 93 overs (M Vijay 129*, C Pujara 162*)
At the end of Day 1: Australia 1st innings 237/9 decl. in 85 overs (M Clarke 95, M Wade 67, R Jadeja 3/33, B Kumar 3/53); India 1st innings 5/0 in 3 overs (M Vijay 0*, V Sehwag 4*)


Post a Comment