Chennai Super Kings IPL 2015 Squad Delhi Daredevils IPL 2015 Squad Kings XI Punjab IPL 2015 Squad Kolkata Knight Riders IPL 2015 SquadMumbai Indians IPL 2015 Squad Rajasthan Royals IPL 2015 Squad Royal Challengers Bangalore IPL 2015 Squad Sunrisers Hyderabad IPL 2015 Squad


Friday, 11 May 2012

DC v DD - MATCH55(10-5-2012) - Full Highlights

IPL 2012: Match 55, Deccan Chargers v Delhi Daredevils


Toss for match 55 of the the Indian Premier League ( IPL) 2012 between The Deccan Chargers and the Delhi Daredevils held at the Rajiv Gandhi Cricket Stadium, Hyderabad on the 10th May 2012

The Delhi Daredevils displayed their batting might as they chased down Deccan Chargers’ total of 187 with consummate ease. Thanks to this win, the Delhi franchise has returned to the top of the league standings, with 18 points from 12 games. Opener David Warner was the difference-maker in this match with his domineering knock of 109*.

Chasing a formidable 188 to win, opener Virender Sehwag (4) began in typical free-flowing style by smashing Shikhar Dhawan for a four off the very first ball. But it went pear-shaped for the DD skipper as he lobbed the next delivery in the air for Cameron White to take an athletic catch. The early wicket shocked the away side, but David Warner and Naman Ojha ensured that DC didn’t press home their early advantage. The Indo-Aussie duo attacked with precision to thwart any charge from their opponents.

Warner (109*) smashed the ball to all parts of the ground at regular intervals, while Ojha (64*) played the supporting role to a tee. The inexperienced DC bowling attack couldn’t stem the flow of runs as the Daredevils assumed complete control of the game. The attacking pair put on an unbeaten 189-run second wicket partnership to see the Daredevils home in just 16.4 overs.

Earlier, Kumar Sangakkara won the toss and elected to bat first. The Chargers’ opening pair of Daniel Harris and Dhawan began cautiously against the visitors’ pace attack. Morne Morkel eventually broke the opening partnership after Harris (19) drove straight into Mahela Jayawardene’s hands. Varun Aaron got in on the action as well after Sangakkara’s (4) mistimed pull found the short mid-wicket fielder. However, the home side had some fight left in them as Dhawan and White began a counteroffensive against the might of the Daredevils. The talented Indian left-hander continued his good form in the tournament with attacking strokeplay that gave the DC fans something to cheer about. White, on the other hand, was playing his role to perfection by providing ample support and unleashing big hits at regular intervals.

This counterattack stunned DD, and the duo put together a 126-run partnership. A direct hit from Shahbaz Nadeem eventually saw the end of Dhawan, but not before he put the Chargers on top with his 84-run innings. White was the last wicket to fall, after making 65. Thanks to this effort, the Chargers ended their innings at 187 for four.

Quick Stats
2 David Warner became the third batsman to score two hundreds – after Adam Gilchrist and Chris Gayle – in the IPL. Warner’s other hundred was against the Kolkata Knight Riders (107* at Delhi in IPL 2010).

3 Number of hundreds scored by David Warner in his last four Twenty20 innings on Indian soil. His scores: 135* v Chennai Super Kings and 123* v Royal Challengers Bangalore (while playing for New South Wales in 2011), 21 v Kolkata Knight Riders on May 7 and 109* v Deccan Chargers in this game (while playing for the Delhi Daredevils).

5 Number of occasions on which the Delhi Daredevils have won a match with 20 balls or more to spare in IPL 2012. No other side has done this more than once!

55 Number of boundaries hit in the match (36 fours and 19 sixes) – the most in a match in IPL 2012. There were 54 boundaries hit in the Delhi Daredevils v Mumbai Indians match in Delhi on April 27.

109 David Warner’s unbeaten score – the highest by any batsman in IPL 2012, surpassing 103* by Ajinkya Rahane and Kevin Pietersen.

189 Runs added by David Warner and Naman Ojha in an unbeaten partnership for the second wicket – the second best partnership in all IPL, after the 206-run partnership between Adam Gilchrist and Shaun Marsh for Kings XI Punjab against the Royal Challengers Bangalore in 2011.

Man-of-the-match: David Warner for turning the match on its head with his 54-ball 109* (10x4; 7x6)

Delhi Daredevils win by 9 wickets

  • Sehwag: “We knew we had the kind of batting lineup that can chase big scores. Warner and Ojha made it look very easy. I got out in the first over and I am very proud of the way they took responsibility and won us the game. ”
  • Sangakkara: “We thought after getting Sehwag out we had a real chance but Warner took the game away from us, it was unbelievable. We just needed wickets but we couldn't get any in the middle overs.”

 Cameron White is presented the Karbonn Kamaal Katch award during match 55 of the Indian Premier League ( IPL) 2012 between The Deccan Chargers and the Delhi Daredevils held at the Rajiv Gandhi Cricket Stadium, Hyderabad on the 10th May 2012

 David Warner is presented the DLF maximum sixes award during match 55 of the Indian Premier League ( IPL) 2012 between The Deccan Chargers and the Delhi Daredevils held at the Rajiv Gandhi Cricket Stadium, Hyderabad on the 10th May 2012


David Warner is presented with the man of the match award during match 55 of the Indian Premier League ( IPL) 2012 between The Deccan Chargers and the Delhi Daredevils held at the Rajiv Gandhi Cricket Stadium, Hyderabad on the 10th May 2012

Related Links:


very good entertaining match...paisa wasul

Post a Comment