Chennai Super Kings IPL 2015 Squad Delhi Daredevils IPL 2015 Squad Kings XI Punjab IPL 2015 Squad Kolkata Knight Riders IPL 2015 SquadMumbai Indians IPL 2015 Squad Rajasthan Royals IPL 2015 Squad Royal Challengers Bangalore IPL 2015 Squad Sunrisers Hyderabad IPL 2015 Squad


Tuesday, 22 November 2011

India v West Indies - Mumbai 3rd Test Preview


The third Test of the three-match series between India and West Indies

November 22-26, 2011. The game begins at 9:30 am, IST.

Wankhede Stadium, Mumbai. The Wankhede last hosted a Test match in March 2006 when India ended up on the losing side against England. One match before that England defeat, in November 2004, India beat Australia in a game that lasted just about two-and-a-half days, on a wicket where spinners accounted for 29 of the 40 wickets that fell.

However, heading into the final Test of this series, the Wankhede wicket is expected to be completely different from that 2004 one. The wicket is expected to offer good pace and bounce, something that will give the pacers on both sides something to cheer about.

The Teams
Having taken an unassailable 2-0 series lead, India will look to register a series whitewash against the visitors. With Yuvraj Singh having been replaced by Rohit Sharma, much of the discussion in the Indian side will revolve around the claim for the No. 6 slot; Virat Kohli has not found a spot in the series so far. Also, if the Wankhede wicket appears to suit the pacers, there might be the temptation of playing the third pacer (Varun Aaron) ahead of one of R Ashwin and Pragyan Ojha in the playing eleven.

The West Indies batsmen finally showed some good fight and form in the second innings of the Kolkata Test. Had they put on a similar showing in the first innings of that match, they might have been heading into the final Test with the possibility of drawing the series. Their batting woes apart, the visitors have also struggled in the spin department. Devendra Bishoo has only four wickets to show for (strike-rate of 121.5) the two Tests he has played in this series. Given the legspinner’s ordinary form, the visitors might be tempted to give offspinner Shane Shillingford the opportunity to play his first Test match against India.

· Out of the 39 wickets taken by the Indian bowlers in the series (one batsman was run-out), 26 have been taken by the two spinners – R Ashwin & Pragyan Ojha (13 each). 16 of them were out either lbw or bowled.
· West Indies have suffered the ignominy of a clean sweep in a series of three matches or more on seven occasions. Six of them have come in the last 14 years.

Venue Stats:
India – played 21, won - 9, lost – 6, tied – 0, draw – 6 – win percentage – 42.85
West Indies – played 6, won - 1, lost – 2, tied – 0, draw –3 – win percentage – 16.66

Highest total in an innings: West Indies 604/6 decl. in 161.0 overs v India – January 23, 1975
Lowest total in an innings: Australia 93 in 30.5 overs v India – November 3, 2004
Best individual score in an innings: Clive Llyod (West Indies) – 242* v India – January 23, 1975
Best bowling figures in an innings: Ian Botham (England) 26.0-7-48-7 v India – February 15, 1980

Average first innings score at Wankhede Stadium: Overall - 333, since 2000 – 272
Average second innings score at Wankhede Stadium: Overall - 315, since 2000 – 233

Result summary at Wankhede Stadium:

Won by side batting 1st
Won by side batting 2nd
Since 2000

Head to Head:

India won
WI won
In India
At Wankhede Stadium

Last meeting against West Indies at Wankhede Stadium:  Oct 9-12, 2002  
Brief scores: India 457; West Indies 157 & 188 - India won by innings & 112 runs.

Form guide (most recent listed first):
India: Won, Won, Lost, Lost, Lost (2 wins, 3 losses)
West Indies: Lost, Lost, Won, Drawn, Drawn (2 losses, 1 win)

The Squads
India: MS Dhoni (c & wk), Gautam Gambhir, Virender Sehwag, Rahul Dravid, Sachin Tendulkar, VVS Laxman, Rohit Sharma, R Ashwin, Pragyan Ojha, Ishant Sharma, Umesh Yadav, Virat Kohli, Varun Aaron, Ajinkya Rahane & Rahul Sharma

West Indies: Darren Sammy (c), Adrian Barath, Carlton Baugh (wk), Devendra Bishoo, Kraigg Brathwaite, Darren Bravo, Shivnarine Chanderpaul, Fidel Edwards, Kirk Edwards, Kieran Powell, Denesh Ramdin (wk), Ravi Rampaul, Kemar Roach, Marlon Samuels & Shane Shillingford

All stats are as on as on October 21, 2011

Also see the useful Links:

Indian Cricketer Ashwin Marriage Photos & Video

India - WI Test Statistics

WI Tour of India schedule of the ODI series


Post a Comment